The not so calm, before the storm

Hello everyone! Sorry I have been inactive for a few days, there was a bit going on. Friday one of Japan’s banks came to the school and we were able to fill out applications for it so we have a way to pay rent and such once we get our own places. Afterwards I decided to take a little trip over to Tokyo Tower since it’s only a 20 minute walk from my campus. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t too great, if it had been a clear day I think I would have been able to see Mt. Fuji from the observation deck. To end the night, I met up with some new friends and we explored Shinjuku and went to a club in Roppongi. Pretty fun night, but I don’t think I will be staying out that late again, for a little while, haha. Saturday was a chill day, slept all day and then attempted to watch John Wick 2. Got most of the way into the movie and then my internet decided to not work properly, so didn’t get to see the last 15 minutes of it.

Today was a good day with lots of walking and sightseeing. Yoko and I had planned to go to Harajuku, but since I had never been to Odaiba, we decided to go there instead. The trip there was going nice and smooth, until I left my wallet on the train when we got off. Thankfully I noticed and had Yoko with me, or else I might have lost it forever. She was able to talk to the attendant, who called the next station and found out that someone had turned it in! Let me just tell you right now how much I love this country. Not a single thing was gone from my wallet; all my money, cards, ID’s, returned to me…what luck! Lunch consisted of yakisoba with an egg, and a little while after that a parfait on blackberry, raspberry, honeysuckle, and some yellow cake おいしい!Unfortunately the 1:1 scale Gundam that used to be infront of Diver City, was taken down a few months ago, so I’m a little upset that I missed my chance to see it when I was here in Tokyo last year; but I did get to see the Statue of Liberty! I didn’t know that Japan had one as well, albeit a lot smaller than America’s. There was some sort of Volkswagen event happening that we had walked by earlier and seen cars drifting around a track. So on the way back Yoko asked if we could join and the lady said yes but we had to register. Well that lady was wrong, lol. It was 5:15 and the last registration was at 5, so we barely missed it. Still got to see come decent drifts from up on the hill though. All in all, I would say it’s been a pretty good weekend, minus the scare of almost losing my wallet.

Tomorrow is the big day, finally starting class, the thing I’ve been waiting for for months now. Even if it’s just the 1 class, I know it’s still going to be a bit challenging since I haven’t been in the student mindset for 10 years! I’m looking forward to it though, this is going to be one hell of a ride, and a great experience.

 

Leave a Reply

