The end of the beginning

So here I sit, at an Irish pub, with my first Guinness, at the end of the first week of college here in Japan. Coming into this, I really didn’t know too much of what to expect; going to college after a 10 year hiatus, and doing it in a foreign country. I didn’t want to overload myself for this first semester, so I’m taking Japanese Elements 1, the basic class (MWF), with Introduction to Academic Discourse (the basic English class meant to teach us about writing essays, I think) and a Political Science class, History and Significance of Race in America (TTH). So far I really enjoy all of my classes, especially Japanese and PoliSci. I really like my teacher for English, I think he’s going to make the class a little less boring, I’m just not looking forward to writing essays, lol. 

Honestly, there’s not a whole lot to report from this week, just been trying to figure out how to balance school, relaxing, and getting enough sleep. I know it’s only going to get worse from here, in a sense…I have to start working on some paragraphs for an essay that’s due in a few weeks. It’s all very reminiscent of high school, but in a grown up environment. But at the same time, I’ve had to quell the urge to talk to people like I had a tendecy to do in the military. A bit difficult, but I’ve managed well enough so far…despite some annoying people in class, I guess that’s to be expected though. On the plus side, between my time with my host family, wandering around Japan, and Japanese class, I’ve noticed a considerable improvement to my Japanese skills. 

This weekend I should be finally getting a Japanese phone number, and working on my paragraphs that are due Tuesday. If I get a decent amount done Saturday, might go crack some cold ones with the boys. That’s about it for now, guys. I think I’m gonna stick with this once a week update while in school; might end up being on Sunday though, I’ll write whenever I have free time from assignments. じゃね

One thought on “The end of the beginning

Leave a Reply

